Shelbyville Daily Union

March 12, 2013

EIU 2013 Undergraduate All-Student Show awards announced

Shelbyville Daily Union

---- — CHARLESTON, Ill. —The Eastern Illinois University Art Department announced the recipients of the 2013 Undergraduate All-Student Show awards at an awards reception held March 3 at the Tarble Arts Center on the EIU campus in Charleston.

For the second year in a row the Best-of-Show award went to Hannah Freeman (Jacksonville), this year for the oil painting “Electric Downfall.” Jonathan Kirgis (Hegewisch) was presented with the William Hubschmitt Digital Art Award for the animated computer graphics titled “Apple.” “Self Portrait,“ an oil painting by Angela Rogers (Channahon) received the Sarah Wozencraft Cox Award for two-dimensional Art.

The major three-dimensional art awards were the Bill Heyduck Ceramics Award presented Shawn Fairchild (Foosland) for three stoneware teapots, and the Cary Knoop Sculpture Award was given to Sandra Baumgartner (Charleston) for her wood piece “Remnants #1.” Baumgartner also won the Knoop Award last year.

Merit awards designated by media categories were presented to the following student artists: Design - Kevin Bagley (Decatur), “Planar Study of Chainsaw,” foamboard; Printed Graphic Design - John Durkin Jr. (Lockport), “Justified Atrocities,” digital print; Digital Art - John Durkin Jr., “Seamless,” digital print; Jewelry/Metals - Kathleen Garrison (Peoria), “Almost Reflected”, copper, powder coat, rayon flock; Sculpture - Chase Grover (Springfield), “A Cover,” earthenware, nickel; Drawing - Laurel Kay (Lake in the Hills), “Self-Portrait,” charcoal, torn paper; Ceramics - Elliot Lux (Homewood), “Big Daddy,” ceramic; Printmaking - Jamie D. Olson (Princeton), “Developed,” solar plate intaglio; and Painting - Erica Young (Danville), “Larceny 18 USC 1708 & 1709,” oil on canvas.

The jurors selected the following for honorable mention: Brandon Jaekel (Schaumburg), “Lose Weight Feel Great,” computer generated graphic; Leah R. Jones (Glenwood), “Victorian Fantasy,” mixed media; Mary A. Kade (Effingham), “Magical Invasion,” etching; Alicia Kreier (Bolingbrook), “Chemicals Collide,” pastel; Rose Paoletti (Paris), “Black Storm,” linoleum print; and Brittany Thomas (Sidell), “The Hollowmen (The Barn),” digital print photograph.

A total of 370 entries were submitted by 111 students. The jurors selected 136 entries by 74 students to make up the exhibition. All of the exhibition awards were selected by a panel of jurors.

The jurors were visual arts professionals Chris Berti, Associate Professor of Art, Parkland College (Champaign, Illinois), John Bonadies, principal and creative director, Bonadies Creative Inc. (Champaign, Illinois), and Ellen Price, Art Professor and head of printmaking, Miami University (Oxford, OH).

In addition to the exhibition award winners, the students also represented in the All-Student Show are: Elnaz Abedian (Dubai, UAE), Rachel Angus (Bloomington), Taylor Bainter (Bolingbrook), Jennifer Barks (Geneseo), Eric Bartl (Downers Grove), Carolyn Baskis (Rantoul), Brett Bennett (Charleston), Katie Black (Toledo), Essex Brassel (Chicago), Jim Campian (Orland Park), Carol-Lynn Comparetto (Rockford), Miranda Dillon (Wheaton), Gaby Duenas-Delaney (Hoffman Estates), Kendra Gallion (Westville), Shari Garzonetti (Grayslake), Garrett Goben (Charleston), Ethan Hahn (Lindenhurst), Michael Hamer (Wenona), Lauren Hayes (Lisle), Lamont J. Haymond (Chicago), Anthony Hesseldenz (Charleston), Courtney Irizarry (Rantoul), Emily Jacobs (Lexington), Kerstyn Jankovec (Elmhurst), Zackary Jones (Mt. Zion), Katie Keck (Neoga), Andrew Koester (Effingham), Marjorie Lair (Mt. Zion), Andrew Lilek (Morris), Breanna Loebach (Geneseo), Katie Lowery (St. Anne), Nicole Marjon (Albuquerque, NM), Ashley McCausland (Bethany), Tim McHugh (Hanover Park), Pat Miah (Neoga), Kaytlin Mott (Elliott), Marquez Noble (Chicago), Esraa Odeh (Urbana), Olajuwon Orenuga (Park Forest), Christina Ortega (Galesburg), Matthew Page (Charleston), Andrew C. Palmer (Charleston), Lindsey Phillips (Mahomet), Brittany Price (Tuscola), Chelsea Ranck (Chatham), Jasmine Reardon (Effingham), Rindy Ricketts (Mason), Alexandra Sager (Effingham), Austin Smith (Shelbyville), LaValle Thomas (Champaign), Lauren Urban (Braidwood), LaTasha Warren (Jerseyville), Delicia Williams (Chicago), Alexandra Woods (Plano), and Bruyn Yunk (Belvidere).

The 2013 Undergraduate All-Student Show is on view at the Tarble Arts Center through March 30. Admission is free. Open hours are: 10am-5pm Tues.-Fri., 10am-4pm Sat., 1-4pm Sun.; closed Mondays, and on March 9 and Easter Sunday, March 31.

This program is co-sponsored by the EIU Art Department and the Tarble Arts Center. For information contact the Tarble at 217-581-ARTS (-2787) or

The Tarble Arts Center is located at 2010 9th Street on the EIU campus in Charleston. Tarble programs are funded by the Tarble Arts Center Fund/EIU Foundation, Tarble Arts Center membership contributions, and other sponsors as noted.