Shelbyville Daily Union


May 25, 2013

LLC Destination College honors middle, high schoolers at awards ceremony


The College-Ready Award is for seniors who have met high school graduation requirements and prepared for post-secondary education. The College-Ready Award recipients were: Krissy Connell, Brownstown High School; Sue Dufaux, Brownstown High School; Brittany Kistler, Brownstown High School; Shelby Rine, Brownstown High School; Sarah Swain, Brownstown High School; Kaitlin Yorde, Brownstown High School; Jacob Daugherty, Casey-Westfield High School; Matthew Davidson, Casey-Westfield High School; Taylor Edwards, Cowden-Herrick High School; Destinee Anderson, Mattoon High School; Ginny Compton, Mattoon High School;

Skye Donnell, Mattoon High School; Emily Harl, Mattoon High School; Zayna Hester, Mattoon High School; Alaina McCormick, Mattoon High School; Natasha Stingley, Mattoon High School; Pagan Baylis, Pana High School; Mercedes Bryson, Pana High School; Lacee Hile, Pana High School; Alisha Reider, Pana High School; Lucy Weddle, Pana High School; Cayla Hoffman, Paris High School; Amanda Jernigan, Paris High School; Hannah Jernigan, Paris High School; Andreanna Smith, Paris High School; Geoffrey Swinford, Paris High School; Megan Temples, Paris High School; Seaton Breanna, Ramsey High School; Elizabeth Hortenstine, Ramsey High School; Taylor Knisley, Ramsey High School; Nicole Whetstone, Ramsey High School; Samantha Strobel, Ramsey High School; Brittany Beard, South Central High School; Kale Black, South Central High School; Breanna Hester, South Central High School; Chelsie Gentry, South Central High School; Shayna Hall, South Central High School; Hannah Kleinik, South Central High School; Maria Hoard South Central High School; Taylor Keen, South Central High School; Shana Dial, St. Elmo High School; Caitlyn Durbin, St. Elmo High School; and Jennifer Swarms, St. Elmo High School.

The Leadership Award recognizes and honors participants who demonstrate the spirit of excellence and leadership. The recipients of this award exhibits commitment to leadership in school and community and promote a positive attitude, turning challenges into opportunities. This award went to: Kaitlin Yorde, Brownstown High School; Courtney Zasada, Brownstown Junior High School; Kylee Cown, Casey-Westfield High School; Morgan Scott, Casey-Westfield Junior High School; Julie Davis, Cowden-Herrick High School; Angel Pease, Herrick Grade School; Bailey Anderson, Mattoon High School; Samantha Cooley, Mattoon Middle School; Hayley Fudge, Mayo Middle School; Adam Cloe, Pana High School; Brianna Garland, Pana Junior High School; Kacey Shields, Paris High School; Taylor Knisley, Ramsey High School; Trevor Keen, South Central High School; Jennifer Swarms, St. Elmo High School; and Morgan Walker, St. Elmo Junior High School.

Text Only
  • 4-H members compete in State Master Showmanship Contest On Friday August 8, 4-H members from counties all over Illinois competed at the State Fair at the Master Showmanship Contest.Included in those who competed were 4-Hers from all the counties in Unit 19. Jesse Campbell represented Coles County, Ellie W

    August 15, 2014

  • Eastern Ilinois Dean's List released CHARLESTON, IL -- More than 980 undergraduate students have been named to Eastern Illinois University’s Spring 2014 Dean’s List. The Deans’ List at EIU recognizes undergraduates with a declared major whose academic performance has been excellent. Stu

    August 12, 2014

  • Kirkbride graduates University of Iowa IOWA CITY, IA -- Geri Kirkbride, a native of Pana, IL, received a PHD-Nursing degree from the University of Iowa at the close of the 2014 spring semester.Approximately 5,000 degrees were awarded at the end of the semester.

    August 12, 2014

  • 081214 Griesemer Kiwanis scholarship pic No Headline Provided Monica Griesemer is presented with a $500 scholarship check from members of the Shelbyville Kiwanis Club. Pictured from left are Eldon Gourley, Stanley Spesard, Griesemer, Jake Hankins, and Craig Hillyer.

    August 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Area students graduate from St. John's College SPRINGFIELD – St. John’s College is proud to announce May graduates from the Department of Nursing. The graduates will receive a Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing degree and are eligible to take the state board test for their RN licensure. The graduat

    August 5, 2014

  • Lake Land holds pinning ceremony Thirty-four new practical nurses were welcomed to the nursing field at a recent pinning ceremony held at Lake Land College.The Practical Nursing Program is a three-consecutive-semester program that includes classroom, skills laboratory and clinical e

    August 5, 2014

  • EIU announces spring graduates Degrees have now been officially awarded to more than 1,325 Spring 2014 graduates at Eastern Illinois University.Students were certified by their respective deans as having completed all requirements leading to the awarding of degrees.Graduates from

    August 5, 2014

  • SHS orientation to be held Aug.19 A freshmen - new student orientation will be held at Shelbyville High School on Tuesday, August 19, from 6:30 - 7:30 p.m.All students and parents are encouraged to attend.The evening will start in the auditorium. Students will have a chance to find c

    August 5, 2014

  • Banks earns degree from Western Governors SALT LAKE CITY – David Banks of Findlay has received his Master of Science Information Security Assurance from Western Governors University. The university held its 27th semi-annual commencement ceremony in Salt Lake City on July 12 and celebrated th

    August 5, 2014

  • 080114 tar wars contest pic 2 Robertson teaches peers about tobacco dangers MOWEAUQUA -- Jarrett Roberson, the Illinois state winner int he 2014 Tar Wars Poster contest, recently traveled to Washington, D.C. for the national poster contest awards ceremony.Tar Wars is a tobacco prevention program that brings local family phys

    August 1, 2014 2 Photos