Shelbyville Daily Union

December 4, 2012

13 Inducted in Okaw Valley NHS


SHELBYVILLE, IL. — Thirteen students from Okaw Valley High School were inducted into membership of the National Honor Society on November 8.  Selection into this group is one of the highest awards given to high school students.  A Faculty Council selected all members for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Three seniors were inducted. Seniors inducted include Megan Durbin, Destinee Nave, and Eldon Yeakel.

Junior inductees were: Samantha Carter and Shelby Dash.

Keeley Benning, Savannah Birch, Paige Harlin, Joe Jeffers, Amanda McClain, Caity Ohm, Abby Vander Burgh, and Justin Vander Burgh were the sophomores inducted.

National Honor Society President, Adriene Lane, conducted the ceremony.  She led the membership pledge, which stressed that members be model students at all times and give willingly of their time to service projects.

Marge Overlot, a retired Bethany teacher, was the keynote speaker.  Principal Eric Bruder recognized each member by presenting them with their membership certificate.

Immediately following the induction, a celebratory dinner was held in the school cafeteria.