Shelbyville Daily Union

June 21, 2013

Shelby Co-op 75th annual member meeting held

Shelbyville Daily Union

---- — SHELBYVILLE —Shelby Electric Cooperative held its 75th annual member meeting Friday, June 14 at the Shelby County 4-H Fairgrounds, Shelbyville, where members were served a pork chop lunch, heard reports and elected members to the board of directors. Members also heard from State Senator Chapin Rose as he presented House Resolution 397 congratulating the cooperative on 75 years of service to its membership.

During the meeting members re-elected J. Mark Lash of Findlay and John M. Scott of Pana. Both men will serve a three year term.

In his report, Board Chairman Darrell Shumard of Stewardson spoke about the history of the cooperative. “I personally want to say thank you to those who have served on this Board and given their time and effort to serve this coop,” said Shumard. “Had it not been for their foresight and their hard work, this coop would not have seen the lights come on.”

President/CEO of Shelby Electric, Jim Coleman, informed members about improvements to the phone systems, and the availability of a new communications platform called SmarHub that allows members to use their smart phones and tablets to pay their electric and PWR-net bills. It will also allow members to look at their usage and learn ways to be more efficient. In the near future, it will allow members to inform the cooperative of service interruptions.

“We have increased our number of phone lines to help with excessive call volumes during storms,” said Coleman. “In addition, we are working on an outage map system that you’ll be able to view via the cooperative’s website, That link will show where an outage is located, how many members are affected and when it has been restored. We hope to have this available soon.”

Coleman also spoke about the methods Shelby Electric Cooperative employs to ensure stability in its power supply.

“Your elected board governs, studies and has established, that unstable short-term savings are not wise, but to embrace a long-term stable path for electric delivery and rates,” said Coleman. “It may be slightly higher relative to short term offers in the near term, but we believe it will be the best strategy overall for you and future members.”

On the topic of Patronage Capitol Credits, Coleman said, “In the past several years the board has made an aggressive effort to return as much of that patronage as possible, while maintaining the company’s equity and stability.” He was pleased to announce that the cooperative has returned more money back to the members than any other cooperative in the state. The money the cooperative receives from the membership that is over the cost to do business, is considered patronage, and is allocated back to the members as directed by the board. Capital credits retired through May 31 totaled $5,817,214.91.

Members were told to mark their calendars for July 20 when a Power of Green customer appreciation day will be held at the East Route 16 location. Coleman also reminded members that the co-op moved their PWR-net customer service representatives to the main cooperative office, but the Power of Green recycling will continue to be open at its current location. As of May 31, Power of Green had collected 366,470 pounds of recyclable materials.

The cooperative also announced that Mallory Jefson, a graduate of Shelbyville High School, Jared Beeson, a graduate of Pana High School and Taylor Damery a graduate of Meridian High School were the three scholarship winners. Each student received a $1,000 scholarship from Shelby Electric Cooperative.

Shelby Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of more than 740 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Shelby Electric is committed to providing superior service based on four core principles: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community. The co-op serves more than 9,971 meters over 2,187 miles of line in parts of Christian, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Macon, Montgomery, Moultrie, Sangamon and Shelby counties. For more information visit Like our facebook page by visiting