Shelbyville Daily Union

March 12, 2013

Softball Hall Picks 3 From Shelby Area

Shelbyville Daily Union

---- — The Illinois Amateur Softball Association (ASA) announces the team and individual Hall of Fame inductions for 2013.

Enshrinement for the inductees will take place at the Decatur Hotel and Convention Center on Saturday, April 13th at 5:30 PM.

Nine individuals and five teams will be inducted this year. The actual location of the state Hall of Fame and Museum is in Casey, Illinois.

Included in the nine individuals to be honored are:

Chris Long, Sigel; Umpire.....Long-time men’s fastpitch umpire. Former recipient of Illinois ASA Don Plarski Award, worked five national tournaments. Also served as District Commissioner for ten years.

John Radloff, Strasburg; Player.....Fastpitch outfielder for Strasburg

Merchants, Sullivan Chiefs, Stewardson-Strasburg Tate Farm Equipment, Maroa Perfect Window Cleaners, Decatur ADM and Effingham DJ’s. Played outfield on three state championship teams; 1976 and 1978 Maroa Perfect and 1981 Decatur ADM (Class AA) and 1981 National Champions, Decatur ADM (Class AA). The Maroa Perfect Window Cleaners team is one of the five teams to be inducted this year.

Radloff stepped away from the “amateur” game in 1973 when the Professional World Softball League was formed, to play outfield for the St. Louis Browns that captured the league crown the only year of the PWSL.

Brad Friese, Strasburg; Player.....Fastpitch player for Stewardson

Merchants, Stewardson-Strasburg Tate Farm Equipment, Cowden Masters. Also co-organizer of Tate team, played for 21 seasons and managed for 8 seasons. Holds all-time Tate record of games played (1,352), at bats (3,834), runs (707), hits (1,078), managerial wins (448) and most managerial wins in a season (84). Played leftfield, catcher and designated hitter on two state championship

teams; 1989 Tate Farm Equipment (Class A) and 1995 Cowden Masters (Masters) and three national tournament teams; 1989 Tate Farm Equipment (Class A), 1992 Tate Farm Equipment (Class AA) and 1995 Cowden Masters (Masters). Managed the 1989 Tate team in both the state and national tournaments.

Radloff was an outfielder for the 1969 and 1970 Lake Land Lakers and Friese a catcher and outfielder on the 1972 and 1973 teams, both will join three other former Strasburg residents already inducted in the Illinois ASA Hall of Fame; Bill Dickson 1B 1979, Al Krietemeier C 1992, Brian Rothrock CF 1997.

The remaining six inductees are:

Rocco Ramsey, Bowen Men’s Fastpitch Manager

John “Jake” Marker, Mahomet Men’s Fastpitch Player

Craig Behne, Bettendorf, Iowa Men’s Slowpitch Player

Roberta Secrest, Avon, Indiana Women’s Fastpitch Player

Rick Minton, Cerro Gordo Men’s Fastpitch Player

Barry Dalmasso Mt. Vernon Men’s Fastpitch Player

The five teams inducted:

Maroa (Decatur) Perfect Window Cleaners Men’s Fastpitch

West Frankfort Cardinals Women’s Fastpitch

Milan Aces Girl’s Fastpitch

Sadorus Woodworth Trucking Men’s Fastpitch

Pinckneyville Celtics Men’s Fastpitch