Shelbyville Daily Union

August 6, 2013

Coleman, Gillett Win Final ITT

Shelbyville Daily Union

---- — In the final of six Illini Team Trail Bass tournaments on Lake Shelbyville this summer, Greg Coleman and Travis Gillett caught the limit and weighed in at 17.28 pounds, including the Big Bass caught by Gillett (5.12 lbs.). The ITT also announced the qualifiers for the 2013 Mike James Classic Championship.

The 1st place finishers in the Northern Division Lake Shelbyville tournament were Greg Coleman and Travis Gillett, weighing 5 bass at 17.28 lbs. Greg and Travis are sponsored by Bass Cat, Mercury, and Dupo Marine. They fished with Carolina Rig and jigs today at depths of 12 ft on points. Water temp was 79 degrees with mild stain and the weather was partly sunny. Greg and Travis fish in a Bass Cat boat with a Mercury motor, Motorguide trolling motor and Humminbird electronics.

The Northern Division Lake Shelbyville Big Bass, weighing 5.12 lbs, was also snagged by Travis Gillett. The 117.28 points they earned on the day bumped Coleman and Gillet up from 12th place in the points race to 7th (518.75 points).

The 2nd place finishers were Brian Plank and Kent Oakley, weighing 5 bass at 13.29 lbs. Brian and Kent fish in a Ranger 185VX boat with a Mercury 175 Opti motor, MinnKota trolling motor and Lowrance/Garmin electronics. Their 112.29 points they earned moved them up from 29th place in points to 25th (412.79).

The 3rd place finishers were Dan McDowell and Garrett McDowell weighing 5 bass at 12.88 lbs. Dan and Garrett are sponsored by Driskell Baits and McDowell Plumbing. They fished with All Star rods, Flueser reel and Suffix line at depths of 2 ft with jigs. Dan and Garrett fish in a Ranger boat with a Mercury motor, MotorGuide trolling motor. The 110.88 points McDowell and McDowell earned for the event moved them up from 17th place in points to 14th (484.63).

The Ranger Cup $1000 bonus winners were the 2nd place finishers Brian Plank and Kent Oakley who were Ranger qualified, fishing in a Ranger 185VX boat.

The 2013 Mike James Classic Championship will be held September 20-21 on Lake Barkley/Kentucky Lake. The qualifiers are: Kevin Arbaugh-Dewayne Schultz, John Wright-Daniel Ruedi, Todd Blakeman-Mark Heil, David Breivogel-Shawn Panick, Shane Haslett-Jake Hartke, Josh Kirchhoff-Brad Kirchhoff, Greg Coleman-Travis Gillett, Quentin Garrett-Eric Ballinger, Jeff Scrimager-Wayne Shaw, Greg Harkins-Jack Montgomery, Lance Dasenbrock-Lee Buchnerkemper, Jim Carroll-Matt Carroll, Chris Hall-Chris Larson, Dan McDowell-Garrett McDowell, Roger Shaw-Michael Sanders, Juice Wright-Roy Meyer, Douglas Williams-John Prather, Larry Morehead-Jeff Stroud, Brian Plank-Kent Oakley, Ben Holmes-Derick Holmes, Mike Black-Penny Black, Mike Blazier-Jim Griffin, Butch Jones, Bret Jezek-Wes Cummins, Larry McHenry-James Jones, Jack Lewis-Greg Schumacher