Shelbyville Daily Union

July 12, 2013

Johnson busts out broom for 2013 Daytona sweep

Goggles Paisano
Shelbyville Daily Union

---- — Jimmie Johnson was in dominate form Saturday night, leading 94 of the 161 lap 400 mile race at Daytona International Speedway. Johnson, who won the Daytona 500 to start the season, became the first driver to sweep the Daytona races since Bobbie Allison in 1982.

Fireball Roberts (1962), Cale Yarborough (1968) and LeeRoy Yarbrough (1969) also won both races at Daytona in the same season.

The win marked his fourth of the season and ties him for the lead in that category with Matt Kenseth. Johnson also has a comfortable 49 point lead in the standings over Clint Bowyer.

The main drama happened with five laps to go, Johnson and teammate Kasey Kahne were battling for the lead when third-place driver Marcos Ambrose made contact with the five-time Sprint Cup champion in an apparent attempt to pass in the middle lane. That sent Ambrose into Kahne, who was sent skidding hard into the backstretch wall to bring out what would be the final yellow of the night.

On the green, white, checkered finish, Johnson was able to pull ahead of Kevin Harvick and then hold off a charging Tony Stewart, while cars wrecked in two separate incidents on the final lap.

Stewart would finish third, followed by Harvick, Bowyer and Michael Waltrip rounding out the top five. Waltrip would prove once again, he can still race with the best of them on restrictor plate tracks.