The Ewington Chapter, Illinois Society Sons of the American Revolution, recognized 35 outstanding seniors from local high schools during a ceremony at the First Baptist Church in Effingham on April 16.

Many students were not able to attend as they were participating in baseball, softball and track events that had been rescheduled due to inclement weather. Students from 35 high schools were recognized and received the Outstanding Citizenship Lapel Pin, a certificate and a pocket Constitution of the United States of America. The SAR Outstanding Citizenship award is presented to recognize the recipient’s furthering of American citizenship principles. The student is nominated by the high school considering the student’s overall scholarship and citizenship.

The following students were recognized: They are (not all pictured):

Elizabeth Bowyer--Shelbyville HS

Royce Thompson--Cowden-Herrick HS

Elizabeth Kelly--Altamont HS

Lane Ryan Himes, Brownstown HS

Zane Simmons--Christ Our Rock Lutheran

John Jones--Fairfield HS

Aaron Nehis--Hutsonville HS

Nolan Tewell--Lawrenceville HS

Keri Zumbahlen--Newton HS

Trey Smith--North Clay HS

Lauren Lankster--Oakland HS

Kenzie Black--Oblong HS

Alexander Gramlick--Patoka HS

Leah Moreland--Ramsey HS

Parker Havill--Red Hill HS

Ethan Steber--Richland County HS

Samuel Quick--Robinson HS

Will Niebrugge--St. Anthony HS

Madison Durbin--South-Central HS

Adeline Bowen--Vandalia HS

Dawson Wayne Barnard--Wayne City HS

Also honored but not present were:

Katrina Davis, Stewardson Strasburg HS

Zachary Burks, Beecher City HS

Harley Mason, CaseyWestfield HS

Paige Milburn, Centralia HS

Jenna Attebury, Cisne HS

Reid Mathenia, Cumberland HS

Jennifer Robards, Dieterich HS

Collin Moseley, Flora HS

Ryan Seymour, Martinsville HS

Morgan Rankins, Mattoon HS

Marcus Jones, Odin HS

Evan Holscher Palestine HS

Nathan Philpot, St. Elmo HS

Jacob Harness, Salem Community HS

Each school nominated a student based on their dependability, cooperative spirit, leadership, service to their school and community, evidence of personal values and patriotism. The SAR Outstanding Citizenship Award is presented in recognition of the recipient’s furthering of American citizenship principles.

Ewington Chapter’s new chairman, Ron Wood, assisted chapter president Joe Harris in presenting the awards. Wood said, “It is remarkable what these students have already accomplished in life.”

Each year the chapter invites high schools in its assigned counties to selected one young man or woman from their senior class.

The Ewington SAR Chapter presents its Historic Flag Program, participates in parades, marks graves of Revolutionary War patriots, and encourages patriotism and love of country. For more information on the Ewington Chapter or the SAR, contact chapter president Joe Harris, 618-662-2344.

This Week's Circulars